Buy nothing day

Friday is International buy nothing day (give or take a few countries).

I’m liking the sound of this. A day of conspicuous non-consumption is timely in helping us remember we don’t need more and more stuff to be happy and to think about where the stuff we buy comes from. Sounds like a day worth supporting.

Some ideas from their website of a checklist to go through before you buy something –

* Do I need it?
* How many do I already have?
* How much will I use it?
* How long will it last?
* Could I borrow it from a friend or family member?
* Can I do without it?
* Am I able to clean and/or maintain it myself?
* Am I willing to?
* Will I be able to repair it?
* Have I researched it to get the best quality for the best price?
* How will I dispose of it when I’m done using it?
* Are the resources that went into it renewable or nonrenewable?
* Is it made or recycled materials, and is it recyclable?
* Is there anything that I already own that I could substitute for it?

Sound advice.

Leave a Reply

